The Financial Situation

Hi all, long time Drayton fan, first time poster. I am doing a bit of research for a college project and came across the latest Drayton Manor accounts.

I'm no financial expert, but it does make pretty grim reading! They owe huge amounts of money and the interest they are currently paying is extortionate. It seems they took a 'repayment holiday' which means the interest is only racking up.

With the pending enquiry results and parking charges introduced... Is this a worrying time for Drayton?

Welcome to Drayton Talk!

You're right, they're not looking the best. Personally I don't think its a worrying time for the park whatsoever, they took out loans for the Hotel as far as I am aware, and for a while that did not make a profit, it has now "broken even" and as such is now beginning to become a profitable venture. I also think the addition of the £2 car parking charge will make a big difference on the financial situation of the park as they have guaranteed additional income. The park could also potentially be looking at compensation from Maurer-Söhne following the rumoured removal of G-Force, a concept coaster, either way they should make money from either selling this on or scrapping it.

I think these factors, as well as the expected rise in gate numbers for the 2019 Season as it is another year on from the Splash Canyon incident, will help improve the financial situation to a point whereby they can pay back some of those loans and perhaps look at investing in the park, and then pay back further with the profits this will hopefully bring. Personally I think it's all about getting that next investment in at a time where guest figures will improve and it being a good time to make repayments on those loans. I think in the next year or so we will start to see an upward change in the park!

As I say, I'm no financial expert but this is how I see it.